Deep Fried and Pickled Book By Paisley Ray (The Rachael O’Brien Chronicles Book 1)

Paisley Ray books are not your typical fiction. A young woman’s plan for an art history degree turns into an outrageous series of misadventures in this laugh-out-loud romp about a girl who enrolls in a southern college during the height of the crazy era that was the 1980’s. This collection crosses genres of chick lit, mystery, romance, humor, and action with the possibility of a corpse or two. To date there are 8 novels in this humorous romantic misadventure mystery series with book #9 due to release spring of 2016.

It’s ’86, the era of Pop Rocks, Jelly shoes, and big hair rock bands. Rachael O’Brien’s freshman plan seems simple: Attend a southern college, earn a degree, party, and meet cute guys—hopefully acing the latter two.

But being threatened by a jealous She-Devil, avoiding the advances of a thirty-something redneck, and discovering an art fraud scheme thwart her “to do” list. On top of her troubles at school, Rachael finds herself forging a new relationship with her emotionally shaken father after Mom abandons the family to pursue a psychic calling.

Bad decision-making, law-bending behavior, and surprise romances make freshman year memorable in Paisley Ray’s DEEP FRIED AND PICKLED.

“I often get asked by readers what order THE RACHAEL O’BRIEN CHRONICLES books should be read in. Each book can be read without any prior knowledge of any of the others. That said, some readers do want to follow a chronological list of events in Rachael’s southern fried, 80’s college life antics so here it is”…..

HOT TAMALE — New Release

I rated this book 4 ****’s 

I get the chance to listen to the audio of this book Deep Fried & Pickled. It is so much different from reading the book. My very first time to read or should I say listen to her writings. 

I was seven years old during the 80’s. I have no much recollection of what is in or out during the year. Listening to the audio gives me idea what is happening during that year.

Listening to this audio is funny especially the Southern accent which I love listening. I think it is the sweetest accent should I say. The friendship of these college women reminds me of my memories while in college though I live in my parent’s house. Drinking is I never experienced and hooking up with boys too. Raised by conservative parents is not fun but I will not trade anything else in the world.  

This audio book is a must read especially for students entering college and will teach them what to look forward to live by them self with strangers and being independent. Freedom is very nice as long as you decide the best and right decision for you. I am looking forward for the next book. 


I listen to the audio of this book in exchange of my honest review.

Available to buy at….   Audible
See the full series on Amazon HERE

“Being a Southern girl and child of the 80s myself, I enjoyed the characters, the setting and the period references. Good plot without being too serious or watered down.”

“This fun and quirky mystery was very nostalgic for me as I got to relive the eighties through Rachael.”

“An entertaining read. Fresh new characters and some zany plot twists kept me reading late into the night.”
Above reviews from Amazon

Also available in the series

About the Author
Born and raised in rural Pennsylvania, Paisley Ray, a steelworker’s daughter spent summer breaks with relatives on the Carolina shores. It didn’t take long for a love of southern to become rooted in her veins, and years later, yield the setting for her novels. Most days, Paisley can be found crafting the antics for the newest book in THE RACHAEL O’BRIEN CHRONICLES.

Find the author on the following sites…
Website   Facebook   Twitter   Pinterest   Goodreads   
Amazon Author Page

Follow the book tour


I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.


Win $ GC / Paypal Cash
(winners choice)

Open Worldwide
Ending on Sunday 13th March at 11.59pm EST

Enter Below and Good Luck !!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 Replies to “Deep Fried and Pickled Book By Paisley Ray (The Rachael O’Brien Chronicles Book 1)”

  1. You make listening to the book sound like so much fun. I’m from the south so I probably wouldn’t notice the difference in how they sound. Loved the book.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *